Welcome to BMX Society community forums
Register now to gain access to all of our features. Once registered and logged in, you will be able to create topics, post replies to existing threads, give reputation to your fellow members, get your own private messenger, post status updates, manage your profile and so much more. This message will be removed once you have signed in.
Login to Account Create an Account
Photo

Bikes for the World donations / dumpster finds

• Please log in to reply
122 replies to this topic

RL Paulie

RL Paulie

• Users
  • PipPipPipPip
  • 1,202 posts
I've been volunteering for this organization since 2007 and I'm so amazed at the stuff that people are still throwing in the trash. I went through a couple old hard drives last night and pulled out a few notable pictures of bikes that we saved from being sent to Africa, South/Central America or Asia. Before I got involved finds like these were being shipped to third world regions. All of these bikes have either been donated or we pulled them from a landfill transfer station metal scrap pile in Maryland. I hope you enjoy...

Unstamped Feb. 84 Pro Performer:
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

First load of bikes delivered from a national bike trade in event done in conjunction with Dick's sporting goods. 5000 bikes were donated by Dick's. Amazingly, no decent bmx stuff made it to us. I think somebody got to the stash before us and did some cherry picking.
Posted Image

We also got a lot of donations from bike shops and took all the leftovers from an old abandoned shop in MD. I'll mix in some pics of what we found in the lot.

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Thruster Timmy Judge with Haro group one parts:
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image

Copyright 1979:
Posted Image

Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image
Posted Image